1600–1900

1864

The «Land surveyors’ concordat»
The «Land surveyors’ concordat», an initiative by the Cantons for harmonization

Following the initiative of the canton of Aargau, several cantons adopt the «Land surveyors’ concordat», which pursues the objectives of freedom of professional movement and a common system of examination of land surveyors, and lays down uniform regulations for surveying procedures.

The process of cadastral mapping using plane table surveys gradually gives way to polygonal traverse procedures.

From the mid-19th century

Surveys are carried out in the cantons, but in general these are isolated and uncoordinated. With the major urban development that begins to take place around 1850, the recording of legal land ownership rights gains higher importance than the taxation register. On 16 April 1860, the «Law on the establishment of a land register» is adopted in Basel. The experience gained there is highly influential in the creation of the Swiss Civil Code at the federal level 50 years later.

1840

Johannes Eschmann (1808–1852) closes the last remaining gaps in the 1st order triangulation. This task, comprising the calculation of the entire network, including the secondary triangulations, brings the triangulation work to a provisional conclusion. In 1840 he publishes this work as «Results of the trigonometric surveys of Switzerland»
(Rudolf Wolf: Geschichte der Vermessungen in der Schweiz, Chapter XVIII, Zurich 1879)

1804

In 1804 the Parliament of the Canton of Vaud orders the survey of every municipality and the establishment of land ownership and valuation registers. Geneva follows suit between 1806 and 1818, and Basel from 1818 until its separation into two cantons in 1833. A cantonal surveyor is in fact appointed in Basel in 1806, although the first land parcel surveys do not take place until 1818.

1798

In France, work is initiated in 1790 on a general survey of plots of land and the development of a cadastre. Following the invasion by Napoleon Bonaparte and the establishment of the “Helvetic Republic”, the idea of introducing a cadastre for the whole of Switzerland based on the French model is considered. However, the course of history prevents the creation of a centralised cadastre, and land surveying is developed at the cantonal level and in varying forms.

From the mid-17th century

Cadastres had already been compiled in the pre-Christian era in order to collect landownership taxes. From the middle of the 17th century, a number of large-scale plans are produced, which are also used as the basis for calculating tithes and interest payments to be made to a civil and/or secular authority.

print preview

1600–1900

1864

Le concordat des géomètres
Le concordat des géomètres, une initiative des cantons pour harmoniser la profession

Plusieurs cantons s’entendent, à l’initiative du canton d’Argovie, sur le concordat des géomètres («Geometerkonkordat») visant au libre établissement et à l’examen des géomètres sur une base commune et fixant par ailleurs des prescriptions de procédure unifiées pour les mensurations. 
La polygonation prend peu à peu le pas sur le levé des plans cadastraux à la planchette.

A partir du milieu du XIXème siècle

Dans les cantons où elles sont réalisées, les mensurations sont effectuées sans coordination. Le développement urbain qui s’amorce vers 1850 accroît l’importance du cadastre juridique par rapport au cadastre fiscal. Le 16 avril 1860, Bâle adopte la loi sur l’établissement du registre foncier («Gesetz über Einrichtung des Grundbuches») dont les enseignements serviront de guide, 50 ans plus tard, lors de l’instauration du Code civil à l’échelon fédéral.

1840

Johannes Eschmann (1808–1852) complète les lacunes restantes dans la triangulation de 1er ordre et mène à terme provisoirement les travaux de calcul de l'ensemble du réseau, y compris les triangulations d'ordre inférieur. Il publie ces travaux en 1840 sous le titre «Résultats des mensurations trigonométriques en Suisse».

(Rudolf Wolf: Histoire des mensurations en Suisse, Chapitre XVIII, Zurich 1879)

1804

En 1804, le Grand Conseil du canton de Vaud ordonne la mensuration de toutes les communes ainsi que l’établissement d’un registre des biens-fonds et d’un registre de taxation. Genève suit cet exemple de 1806 à 1818, Bâle de 1818 jusqu’à la scission du canton en deux demi-cantons en 1833. Si un géomètre cantonal a bien été nommé à Bâle en 1806, les premières mensurations parcellaires n’ont débuté qu’en 1818.

1798

C’est en 1790 que débute le premier levé de toutes les parcelles en France, en vue d’établir un cadastre. Après l’invasion de la Suisse par les armées napoléoniennes et l’instauration de la «République helvétique», l’introduction d’un cadastre national sur le modèle français est évoquée. Le cours de l’histoire en a toutefois décidé autrement. Le cadastre centralisé n’a jamais vu le jour et la «mensuration officielle» s’est développée à son propre rythme dans chaque canton.

Dès le milieu du XVIIème siècle

Des cadastres sont déjà établis avant l’ère chrétienne, afin de pouvoir percevoir des impôts assis sur les terres possédées. Les premiers plans à grande échelle commencent à être dressés à partir du milieu du XVIIème  siècle. Eux aussi servent au calcul des charges foncières – le cens et la dîme – dues à une autorité ecclésiastique ou temporelle.