1600–1900

1864

The «Land surveyors’ concordat»
The «Land surveyors’ concordat», an initiative by the Cantons for harmonization

Following the initiative of the canton of Aargau, several cantons adopt the «Land surveyors’ concordat», which pursues the objectives of freedom of professional movement and a common system of examination of land surveyors, and lays down uniform regulations for surveying procedures.

The process of cadastral mapping using plane table surveys gradually gives way to polygonal traverse procedures.

From the mid-19th century

Surveys are carried out in the cantons, but in general these are isolated and uncoordinated. With the major urban development that begins to take place around 1850, the recording of legal land ownership rights gains higher importance than the taxation register. On 16 April 1860, the «Law on the establishment of a land register» is adopted in Basel. The experience gained there is highly influential in the creation of the Swiss Civil Code at the federal level 50 years later.

1840

Johannes Eschmann (1808–1852) closes the last remaining gaps in the 1st order triangulation. This task, comprising the calculation of the entire network, including the secondary triangulations, brings the triangulation work to a provisional conclusion. In 1840 he publishes this work as «Results of the trigonometric surveys of Switzerland»
(Rudolf Wolf: Geschichte der Vermessungen in der Schweiz, Chapter XVIII, Zurich 1879)

1804

In 1804 the Parliament of the Canton of Vaud orders the survey of every municipality and the establishment of land ownership and valuation registers. Geneva follows suit between 1806 and 1818, and Basel from 1818 until its separation into two cantons in 1833. A cantonal surveyor is in fact appointed in Basel in 1806, although the first land parcel surveys do not take place until 1818.

1798

In France, work is initiated in 1790 on a general survey of plots of land and the development of a cadastre. Following the invasion by Napoleon Bonaparte and the establishment of the “Helvetic Republic”, the idea of introducing a cadastre for the whole of Switzerland based on the French model is considered. However, the course of history prevents the creation of a centralised cadastre, and land surveying is developed at the cantonal level and in varying forms.

From the mid-17th century

Cadastres had already been compiled in the pre-Christian era in order to collect landownership taxes. From the middle of the 17th century, a number of large-scale plans are produced, which are also used as the basis for calculating tithes and interest payments to be made to a civil and/or secular authority.

print preview

1600–1900

1864

Das Geometerkonkordat, eine Harmonisierungsinitiative der Kantone

Mehrere Kantone vereinigen sich auf Initiative des Kantons Aargau zum «Geometerkonkordat».

Dieses bezweckt einerseits die Freizügigkeit und die gemeinschaftliche Prüfung von Geometern und stellt andererseits einheitliche Verfahrensvorschriften für Vermessungen auf. 

Die Aufnahme der Katasterpläne mit dem Messtisch wird nach und nach durch das Polygonverfahren abgelöst.

Ab Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts

In den Kantonen erfolgen die Vermessungen, wenn überhaupt, unkoordiniert. Mit der um ca. 1850 einsetzenden städtebaulichen Entwicklung gewinnt der Rechtskataster gegenüber dem Steuerkataster an Bedeutung. In Basel wird am 16. April 1860 das «Gesetz über die Einrichtung des Grundbuches» angenommen, dessen Erfahrungen 50 Jahre später auf Bundesstufe wegweisend bei der Schaffung des Zivilgesetzbuches einfliessen.

1840

Johannes Eschmann (1808–1852) füllt im Auftrag von Guillaume-Henri Dufour die noch bestehenden Lücken in der Triangulation I. Ordnung aus und bringt mit der Berechnung des gesamten Netzes – samt den untergeordneten Triangulationen – die Triangulationsarbeiten zu einem vorläufigen Abschluss. Er publiziert diese Arbeiten 1840 als «Ergebnisse der trigonometrischen Vermessungen in der Schweiz». 

(Rudolf Wolf: Geschichte der Vermessungen in der Schweiz, Kapitel XVIII, Zürich 1879)

1804

Der Grosse Rat des Kantons Waadt verordnet 1804 die Vermessung sämtlicher Gemeinden und die Anlage von Liegenschafts- und Schätzungsregistern. Genf folgt diesem Beispiel 1806 bis 1818, Basel ab 1818 bis zur Kantonstrennung 1833. In Basel wird 1806 zwar ein Kantonsgeometer ernannt, doch die ersten Parzellarvermessungen erfolgen erst ab 1818. 

1798

In Frankreich wird 1790 erstmals mit einer allgemeinen Parzellenvermessung und Anlegung eines Katasters begonnen. Nach dem Einmarsch Napoleon Bonapartes und der Errichtung der «Helvetischen Republik» wird erwogen, nach französischem Vorbild gesamtschweizerisch einen Kataster einzuführen. Der Verlauf der Geschichte verhindert dieses zentralistische Werk, die «amtliche Vermessung» entwickelt sich kantonsweise und unterschiedlich weiter.

Ab Mitte des 17. Jahrhunderts

Bereits in vorchristlicher Zeit werden Kataster erstellt, um Steuern auf Bodenbesitz erheben zu können. Ab Mitte des 17. Jahrhunderts werden vereinzelt grossmassstäbliche Pläne erstellt. Auch sie dienen der Berechnung der Grundlasten – Zehnten und Bodenzinse –, die einer kirchlichen und/oder weltlichen Obrigkeit abzugeben sind.